Kid Cudi isn’t alone on his pursuit of happiness.

“I’m on the pursuit of happiness and I know everything that shine ain’t always gonna be gold. I’ll be fine once I get it, I’ll be good” ~Kid Cudi

For some odd reason, a lot of the time people think self-help books are for seventy year women who live alone and watch “Leave it to Beaver” in their spare time (maybe not that extreme, but you get the point.) I don’t know many teenagers or younger adults that have even gone in the self-help section, and I think I know why. I’d say there are three different situations. First, people think that a simple book can’t solve their life problems. Or second, people think they aren’t necessarily unhappy, so there is no need to fix something that isn’t in dire need for repair. And Third, it’s hard to admit that you want to change things about yourself and it feels pathetic having to find it through a book only intended for crazy people. Well, I would have to disagree with all three of those reasons. But, I have thought all of those things myself before I gave up and practically bought the whole self-help section in Barnes and Nobles. I’m almost positive the man at the checkout thought I had some severe mental problems or that I was just a dramatic teenage that thought my life was a dark abyss. But, it couldn’t have been more different. I wasn’t severely unhappy with my life, or do I have mental problems, I simply wasn’t content with how everything was going in my life. And, by getting these books it didn’t solve those problems, but it did however, change my thinking about those situations. So, if you are reading this and still thinking, “no. I’m not going to take time out of my life to read books on how to be happy, when I can figure that out on my own.” Then alright..Be that way, and for people just like you, I’m going to sum up the best things I have ever learned from some of my many books. I hope some of these things get you thinking, or if you have already heard them (which most of you have) then just enjoy the wisdom from them.

▪ There is happiness within all of us, and that happiness has little to do with life situations but, rather the way perceive our life.

▪ What you put into the universe you receive.. Or in other words, express positively and you will feel positive, or express negatively and feel negative.. Which do you want? It’s all up to you.

▪ To think that some situation in the future will bring you happiness is just an excuse on why you can’t be happy in the moment.

▪ Your thinking is the number one thing that determines your happiness.. Control you mind, control your life.

▪ Lighten up, and think of the things that you’re grateful for.. It’s hard to be unhappy when you think of all the things that you have been blessed with.

▪ “It’s called a break up because it’s broken” It’s over for a reason, as hard as it may seem you need to accept it, and find someone better.

▪ PUT DOWN THE CHUNKY MONKEY ICE CREAM AND CHOCOLATE… It will not solve your problems. (I didn’t get that from a book, I just thought I should share some of my insight that I learned that hard way.)

▪ Find someone to talk to, expressing what your going through helps you relieve some of the stress, just be sure that the person you choose is a listener and not a person trying to “fix you”.

▪ Lose yourself in something. Set some goals and work towards it. It’s easier to be happy when you are occupied and have something to look forward to. Finding long-term happiness is what I like to think setting goals does.

▪ Create some daily affirmations and say them to you’re self (you will feel alittle crazy the first few times, but if you can get past that, then it really helps with confidence and staying positive.)

▪ Let yourself cry, it’s not a sign of weakness. Give yourself some time to feel the pain.. By not allowing yourself the time to mourn, you are just keeping unhappiness inside of you and that’s not allowing happiness to be within. I like to think of happiness and unhappiness as actual objects or matter and when you express sadness you are pushing it outside of you and giving more room for happiness.

▪ “Nothing is permanent. What is permanent is your attitude to the moment, that is within your control.” From the book, “This is Not the Life I Ordered.”

  • Smile, exercise, and kiss people!! It releases endorphins which make you happy.. One of my favorite tips.

▪ Lose yourself in service, helping others brings joy to you and whoever you’re serving.

▪ And last, my favorite thing was talked about in the book “The Happiness Makeover.” “To touch the 10,000 joys, be willing to touch the 10,000 sorrows.” Happiness has no meaning without sadness, they balance each other out. We can’t expect our lives to be perfect and have no sadness, and you can’t expect to be happy 100% of the time. But, having happiness and being happy are two different things. Think about it.. I dare you.

Those are just some of the things that I have enjoyed reading about in my self-help books. I Hope you enjoyed it also..

If you are looking for some good books to try, I would recommend these. “The Happiness Makeover”, “This is Not the Life I Ordered”, “Changing Your Coarse”, “The Secret”, “The Power of Now”, “A New Earth”, “The Happiness Project”, “Learning from the Heart”, “It’s Called a Break Up Because it’s Broken”, and “The Gifts of Imperfections.” If you want some other recommendations let me know and I’ll give you some others you might like.

~Katie

Leave a Reply

