Who needs a therapist when there’s Dr Seuss..

One day I want to be a mother. I love singing songs to the kids I babysit during bath time, and the adventurous games, where the floor is lava and we jump around the house on pillows. I love playing princess with the girls and “throw any object in sight at each other” with the boys. But, the thing I love most, even more then cuddling on the couch with them for naptime is STORY TIME.

So tonight as my 8, 5, and 3 year old cousins and I got ready for bed and cuddled close in one big warm bed, I pulled out a Dr Seuss book and began to read. But, never did I think that a story for little kids could cause such an epiphany for me. As I sat there and read, one page caught my utmost attention.

“The waiting place.. For people just waiting. Waiting for a train to go, or a bus to come or the plane to go. Or the mail to come, or the rain to go, or the phone to ring, or the snow to snow. Or waiting around for a yes or no. Waiting for a string of pearls, or a pair of pants, or a wig with curls or another chance..They are just waiting.”

From the cutely illustrated children’s book came an epiphany that hit me straight in the face.. I. AM. IN. THAT. WAITING. PLACE. And the truth is, aren’t we all somehow in that dreadful stage. Maybe not as severely as others, but don’t we all sit here and say, “when I get that ___, then I will be happy.” or “If my boyfriend would just____, then this relationship will be good.” or my personal favorite “If (place your favorite ice cream flavor) would come in gallon size to my door every afternoon, then I will be okay with my life situation.” We all have our wants, and to believe that when we get that it will make us happy isn’t always such a bad thing, it’s the waiting around that gets us. I can’t even begin to tell you the time I have wasted on waiting. I have waited around years for I guy I thought would come back around (which he did, but he left…. again), I waited my whole life for my parents approve with how I choose live my life (which never has come nor ever will), and most recent I have been waiting five months for every problem to simultaneously disappear the day I step on the plane to Hawaii for my future (what. a. joke.). And to add that all up is a lot of time spent waiting. I know I’m not alone when I say that I’m a waiter. But, I don’t want to be stuck on page 26 of a Dr Seuss book. I’d rather be in page 27.

“Somehow you’ll escape all that waiting and staying. You’ll find the bright places where Boom Bands are playing.”

I don’t know about you, but I want to be where the Boom Bands are playing, sounds a lot better then sitting around waiting. So that is actually what I’m going to do, I’m not waiting any longer. I’m here in this moment, not thinking of the future and waiting for it to come, it will catch up to me soon enough. I’m stepping out of page 26, and onto 27.. That’s the goal!

So, tonight as I gave the kiddos their kisses goodnight, I told the youngest, “don’t spend your life waiting for stuff to happen, be happy with where you are now, okay Cooper?” Thinking I gave him some wise words that he would take to heart, he responded.. ” when’s mommy coming home, she gone long.” Guess that’s alittle ironic, but maybe one day he will learn the wisdom from Dr Seuss, just like I did.

~Katie

One thought on “Who needs a therapist when there’s Dr Seuss..

  1. 😀 Dr. Seuss has a lot of inspirational lines! Pg 27 is waiting for you! As well as pg 28 and 29! Your story is just starting!

Leave a Reply

