The Unknown

Who I want to be

Who I’m supposed to be

Who I really am
 
Three very contrary paths
three different lives
which to follow
which to become
 
Can I ever truly be one
can I ever fit within
or am I a wanderer
aimlessly shifting
never finding ones place
 
I can see them all perfectly
for what they really are
I know which I should desire
however, it is not want I thirst
 
I’m stalling trying to hold
to any time I have left to choose
my feet lie still
eyes glance at the three paths
 
Who I want to be
Who I’m supposed to be
Who I really am
 
I close my eyes
hold out my hand
and wait for someone
someone to guide me
to advise me
 
Yet I stand alone
facing the daunting futures
confounded and stranded
 
But I place my foot down
and begin to walk forward
one slow stride to the next
away from where I should
yet unaware of where it leads
only trusting in the unknown 
-Katie
 
2 thoughts on “The Unknown

Leave a Reply

