Living the Dream

Record time, it’s around 4 in the morning and yet my mind feels wide awake and I have felt no greater need than to share with you all some news that excites me to tears. This afternoon I received a phone call from the Global Vision International telling me that I have been accepted into the program I had applied to earlier this week. So, without further adieu I shall share my lovely destination. I AM GOING TO NEPAL.

Ever since I was a little girl I would dress my dog up in clothes and force her to listen to me teach. Pathetic? I know, but to me that is what made me the happiest. I dreamed of having my own classroom and writing on those squeaky clean white boards. But as time went on and I went through my “I want to be “successful”” phase I thought that teaching didn’t pay enough or have enough prestige. However, gladly I got out of that phase realizing that one of the most important things to me is being educated, so sharing that with others only makes sense. I began the dream all over, I changed my major AGAIN and finally felt a feeling of “this is what I am supposed to be doing.” But as always I had a little doubt in my mind as to whether this is how I want to spend the rest of my life.

Well, my answer came not too long after. I know I say God gave me this” and “God taught me this” but honestly, I feel that God has given me these things and He is the one that knows where I am supposed to be. Sometimes He has to push me or even kick me in the right direction (that being Utah) but nonetheless I get where I need to be. This time it was not as subtle as usual. I for the past month have spent hours trying to find the right study abroad program, and nothing seemed to be working out. I didn’t have the money, I am too young and not enough experience. After feeling hopeless and about to give up I checked just one more website. Instantly I found my dream program. Spend the Summer in Nepal teaching in your own classroom.. Now I would be lying if I told you I immediately knew where Nepal was but after my research I realized I had never seen a place more beautiful. Like my usual self I was brought to tears when I saw the kids that I would be teaching and I have never felt a greater need than to apply right then. So with in minutes I had filled out my application and knelt down on my knees and said one of the longest prayers of my life. I could no longer stay at byu if I had nothing to keep me motivated, this was just the thing to keep my hopes high and for me to make the difference that I have dreamed of making.

The NEXT day I received a phone call from one of the directors, we then interview for an hour and she said the program was looking for someone just like me. So there I was dancing around my room and screaming at the top of my lungs. I made it in… Now for the parents, the hard part. Surprisingly it went over well with them, things started fitting into place and opportunities for scholarships were put in my way. For once, everything matched up and that is when I knew that God had this in my plan all along. I am meant to go to Nepal, I do not know why yet or the happiness and difficulties I have in-store there but I know that this is where I am supposed to go. I finally have my chance to make a difference, to start making a change in this world. I found my desire to live like I was hoping for in my last post. I am living my dream.

The Happiest Ever, Katie

2 thoughts on “Living the Dream

Leave a Reply

